Why I am returning Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro – and stay with Samsung Galaxy Watch

Since I gave back my company SmartPhone Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra I am using my private phone Xiaomi Redmi Note 11. Now brand-new Xiaomi Smartphone came out, Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro, and I purchased it because I expected best match with my Phone.

Pricing: Xiaomi is the Winner

Samsung Galaxy Watch 4 and 5 Pro are more expensive than the Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro. The Bluetooth version of the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro is priced at $450 and the LTE version is priced at $500. While the Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro is priced at $269. Thus, for those on a tight budget, the Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro is more appealing.

Display: Xiaomi is the Winner

Display-wise, the Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro brings a 1.47-inch Super AMOLED touchscreen, an Always-On Display, and a peak brightness of 600 nits. While the Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro features a smaller 1.4-inch Super AMOLED with an Always-On Display and a max brightness of 1,000 nits.

Colors: No clear winner

Both Samsung and Xiaomi went for the conventional watch design. The circular or rounded shape form is well curved and fitting to the wrists. Both smartwatches are waterproof- 5ATM resistant. Also, they are available in different colors. The Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro comes in two color options: Black and Silver. While the Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro comes in Black Titanium and Grey Titanium colors.

Battery Life: Xiaomi is the Winner

The battery capacity of the Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro is 500 mAh which is rated by the company to last up to 15 days in typical usage mode, and with AOD turned on, the battery life drops to 5 days. On the other hand, the Galaxy Watch 5 Pro has a 590 mAh capacity and with fast charging, you can get 8 hours of battery life in just 8 minutes.

Health Apps: Samsung is the Winner

The Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro comes with the basic health and fitness features such as heart rate, SpO2 sensors, sleep, and stress tracking, a total of 117 fitness modes, blood oxygen level measurements, skin temperature sensor, accelerometer, gyroscope, compass, barometer, and ambient light sensor. However, it lacks the ECG sensor.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 Pro is multi-functional. It brings Samsung BioActive Sensor (Optical Heart Rate + Electrical Heart Signal + Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis), Temperature Sensor, Accelerometer, Barometer, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, and Light Sensor (ECG certified and Blood Pressure monitor). Samsung Health App also works on my Xiaomi Phone which is great

My favorite Apps: Spotify, Email and Whatsapp: Samsung is the Winner

I am returning now Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro because I really like to answer, read as read or delete Emails on my Smartwatch. I also like to answer Whatsapp messages with short sentences or emojis. Spotify is not existing on Xiaomi, I only can start/pause music and increase volume. No offline Playlists – which is helpful when you want to go for a run without your Phone or listen to music in Spa areas where phones are prohibited.

Should I keep the Xiaomi Watch S1 Pro?

No, will send it back now.

Leave a comment